top of page
Search
  • mziegen

Matthew's Coding Blog: Final Brainstorm

For the final project, I would like to create a basketball game. It will be viewed from a first person's point of view. Not sure how I will go about it, coding-wise; However I have certain ideas I would like to come to fruition if possible.


Since it will be from a first person/player's point of view, I would use the direction keyboard buttons to direct where the player is going. Perhaps, defense can be randomized as far as their movement goes. Next, when your player finds the right position and comfortability to take their shot, you will then use a mouse click to solidify the placement of the shot and your jump shot will be taken. There is more though. When taking your jump shot, there will be a release point you must exact to make it. As the gage on the meter swings up, you must press enter and exact the spot given to make your jump shot. For example, it would be something like the block stacker at Dave & Buster's type of thing. To pass the ball to teammates, you will also use the mouse click as from the first person view you can see the entire court. If I can, I would like to implement a dunk and layup ability into the game. If you have the wide open lane, holding down 'L' should get the trick done. To dunk, holding down 'D' should also allow to get the job done.


To play defense, you must also use the directional pad to guard, press 'S' to attempt a steal, and press 'B' to attempt to block a shot.


I would like to include several camera angles too so by pressing 'C' you can switch between a few different angles to match your preference. For example, if I am using first person point of view, directional buttons should pretty self explanatory. However, from the skybox view or broadcast view, you would use controls to how you see the court. So right or left, depending on what side of the court you score, would be used to go back and forth, and up and down would be to move from side to side.


I plan on using coding to obviously include a scoreboard, timer, shot-clock timer, and timeout ability.


So far, this is all I have and I don't think the players will be too realistic but just getting the game to work in some capacity is great start and I look forward to making this thing come to life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Matthew's Coding Blog: Final

Unfortunately, I am mere inches away from finishing the product. This month has set my life into what feels like an irreversible tailspin. With that being said, I did my best to get the point across a

Matthew's Coding Blog: Algorithmic Bias

There is biasness in the online recruitment tools used there is a discovery made in Amazon that more than half of the percentage were male workers and that they held over more than 70% of the company

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page