top of page
Search
  • mziegen

Matthew's Creative Coding Blog: First Post

Navigating NYC Shelters


This is the first post of my coding blog. The project I have decided to talk about is the NYC Homeless Shelter Metrics System. I have chosen to focus in on this project because it is an important issue and allows us all to better understand and communicate in discussions of homelessness and services offered to those who need it most.


Constructed through Esri, a GIS Mapping Software, the 3D map lets one learn the capacities of NYC shelters and the distance between hospitals, libraries, schools, other shelters, or many other essentials locations.


This project must've taken at least a year to create as it continues to update and provide new information by the minute. Sajit Thomas is credited as the founder of the Metrics map. On the other hand, there are no documents or articles explaining how many people were involved in the creation of this phenomenal program; However, it must've taken several crews of engineers, programmers, coders, etc. to have it come to fruition.




For more information, you can access the map by clicking the link below.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Matthew's Coding Blog: Final

Unfortunately, I am mere inches away from finishing the product. This month has set my life into what feels like an irreversible tailspin. With that being said, I did my best to get the point across a

Matthew's Coding Blog: Final Brainstorm

For the final project, I would like to create a basketball game. It will be viewed from a first person's point of view. Not sure how I will go about it, coding-wise; However I have certain ideas I wou

Matthew's Coding Blog: Algorithmic Bias

There is biasness in the online recruitment tools used there is a discovery made in Amazon that more than half of the percentage were male workers and that they held over more than 70% of the company

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page